Logging in to Gestan

To log in to Gestan, click on the icon installed on your computer following the installation of Gestan.

This will open the login screen for Gestan.

The login screen for Gestan allows you to select the database you wish to connect to (if you have set up multiple databases), as well as to enter your username and password.

If the Memo box is ticked, your username and password will be pre-filled the next time you log in. All you’ll need to do is click on Log in. And if the connection is set to ‘automatic’ in the connection table, the login screen won’t even appear; you’ll be logged in straight away.

At the bottom of the login screen, you’ll see the version of Gestan and the address of the database you wish to connect to.

If you’ve lost your password, click on the link Forgotten password in the login window.

This screen allows you to have your user ID and password resent to you by email, either using your Gestan user ID, or usingone of the email addresses you have provided (work or personal email address, if you have provided them), or using your surname – normally, you should know at least one of these three details – or by contacting the primary database administrator, who will then be able to change your password.

If none of these methods work, uninstalling the programme is of no use as uninstallation does not delete the data. Your only option is to contact support.

The context menu on the login screen offers the following options:

**Show Tools ** displays four icons, provided the code and password entered are correct.

The 1 opens the connection table.

The icon 2 allows you to re-index files: just like politicians, files can sometimes become corrupted. For files, this isn’t too serious; this tool allows you to re-index them.

The icon 3 allows you to remove the file from the connections list. This forces Gestan to restart from the installation wizard. Normally, you shouldn’t need to use this, but we have seen cases where this option is useful.

The icon 4 is reserved for technical support.

Via Delete all passwords, all passwords stored on the computer will be deleted: this will force the next user to enter a code and a password.

Opening the directory opens the folder where the data is stored.

Automatic login allows you to open Gestan automatically (without going through the login window), provided a username and password have been saved for the last database accessed.


Other “Tools” articles

  • en/wiki/outils/connexion.txt
  • Dernière modification : 2026/10/23 14:41
  • de eneuville